Date 1 of 30: Shootin’ Some Pool


So, to start the 30 Dates in 30 Weeks, I tried to pick something simple from my First Date List (my date wanted me to choose the activity for our date). I opted for a friendly game of pool over a couple of  beers. We decided to stay in East County, so we headed over to Nice Rack in El Cajon. Now, I’m a pretty laid back woman, so I really enjoy dive bars and things of that nature; this was pretty perfect for me. It is honestly one of my “go to” dates – I’m comfortable and more in  my element than I would be a club. I don’t know, maybe it’s the East County girl in me. But take heed, not all women like these kinds of places…

Nice Rack is a pretty legit little place. It has quite a few pool tables, a couple of dart boards, a beer pong table (which sadly, we did not partake in), full bar, decent beer on tap and, food too. On a Sunday evening (the night of our date) it’s not crowded at all and it’s pretty easy to be able to carry on a conversation with a date. Playing games while out on dates makes it to where each person is able to get up and move around. Normally people tend to carry a lot of nervous tension along with them  on dates and sometimes, it helps to be able to get up and shake some of the jitters off. By the end of the first game (and the first two beers) I think we had loosened up enough to finally relax and enjoy ourselves. (He won that game, just in case anyone was wanting to know the score.)

I actually got to learn quite a bit about him, and how he grew up, and where he stood currently in his life. It should be noted at this time, that I am in the process of trying to quit smoking and hadn’t brought them with me on this date. I thought I would be dying on this date without them, but I seemed to manage just fine. Either the conversation was intriguing enough, or I was just pretty intent on winning a game of pool. At this point He had won the second game, and I was pretty determined to redeem myself.

Competitiveness is a great ice breaker for most people. It can also show you the true colors of a person as well. He wasn’t exactly thrilled when I came back with a vengeance during the third game and  kicked his ass. After a 4th game that tied us at 2 games a piece, he decided to call it a night.

All in all, it wasn’t a terrible date. There was very little follow-up via phone in the following days and eventually our conversation came to a halt, so there will be no second date with this one, which is perfectly fine by me.

SCORE: On a scale of 1-10, I give this date a 6.

One Trackback to “Date 1 of 30: Shootin’ Some Pool”

Leave a Reply

