Date 2 of 30: Observing Wrex The Halls


Date 2 of 30 is being written from an observational standpoint. I got to play “the third wheel” and observe two of my friends who were actually on a date. The location: 91x’s annual concert, Wrex the Halls – VIP status. (Background – my friend scored free tickets to this event and managed to get VIP passes with it, which allowed us free food and beverage!)

Her date picked the two of us up and we were off to the Sports Arena. We started out in the VIP section, which allowed us free beer (only Bud Light – Yuck!) and Mexican food. Her date actually wound up paying for the additional liquor we consumed (including myself) which scores major points on a date (even from my “third wheel” perspective).  While in the VIP section, we got to watch an interview of Mark and Tom from Blink 182, literally ten feet away from us. Even though I’m not really a Blink 182 fan, I found this to be pretty cool.  At this point, I think its only fair to mention some of the acts that were playing that night: Mutemath, Everlast, Pennywise, DMC, Switchfoot (my personal favorite act of the evening), Social Distortion (pretty epic) and, of course, Blink 182.

We went out to the stands finally to catch some of the show, since it was only televised in the VIP area. This is the part where I advise against a concert setting for a date. Although it was super fun, it is not exactly the place where you can talk to your date. If you already know your date fairly well (i.e. you either already know each other, or this is not your first date), then by all means, go for it! But as a first date, it is not conducive to getting to know someone. Luckily, the two on the date already knew each other pretty well, so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

My peripheral vision was able to catch glimpses of the two who were on the date. He was a complete gentleman and the biggest move he made (that I could see anyways) was when he put his arm around her. Awww, how cute! It was refreshing to see the two of them interact that way with each other, even though they had a third wheel in tow. Actually, come to think of it, I didn’t feel like much of a third wheel because they made sure to involve me in their conversations.

At the end of the night, her date drove us all home, walked her to her door and that was it for the evening. My only observation is that these two have been on 3 or 4 dates at this point, and neither of them had made an actual move on the other. No good night kiss, nothing. My two cents: this is about the time where you need to either “shit or get off the pot”. Don’t be a prude – make a move!

SCORE: On a scale of 1-10, I give this date a high 7.

2 Comments to “Date 2 of 30: Observing Wrex The Halls”

  1. I agree make the move if it f.weld right sweep her off her feet do something you wouldn’t nornmally do throw her against the wall and kiss her !!

Leave a Reply

